Finalists Named for Top 2 Collegiate Awards: 2009-2010

Archon, Collegian of the Year to be announced shortly

July 28, 2010

THE SUPREME COUNCIL OF PHI SIGMA SIGMA is pleased to announce the following collegians as the 2009-2010 finalists for two of our sisterhood's most coveted awards: Archon of the Year and Collegian of the Year. Collegians earning these high honors often go on to achieve high distinction in other areas of their lives, such as advanced degrees, significant contributions in their professions and communities, and active Fraternity involvement, including leadership within the international organization.

Regardless with who ultimately "wins" these honors, we celebrate each of the women below for truly living our values and being exemplary sisters we can all be proud of. Diokete Hupsala!

Final decisions will be announced in August 2010. Watch this page for updates.

Jeanine Jacobs Goldberg Archon of the Year - Finalists

Six women are finalists for ARCHON OF THE YEAR, an award named for one of our most renowned Grand Archons. Jeanine Jacobs Goldberg (Nu - University of Pennsylvania) was once a chapter Archon herself, and became a tireless volunteer for the Fraternity. A nationally renowned attorney who was recently named one the University of Pennsylvania's top 100 Greek alumni, she left a vast legacy benefiting our organization, including helping to launch the Phi Sigma Sigma Foundation in the 1960s.

The Jeanine Jacobs Goldberg Archon of the Year Award is presented to the collegiate chapter Archon deemed by the Grand Archon to be the most outstanding based on her contributions to the chapter and her relationship with the Fraternity.

1. BRITTANY BAKKE (Epsilon Alpha - Illinois State University)

  • Assisted in resolving significant financial issue
  • Assisted in implementing Reflections Member Education Program
  • Led the chapter in resolving issues of key importance to the University

2. WHITNEY DUBAY (Delta Iota - Central Michigan University)

  • Campus President of the Year and recipient of Greatest Leader Award
  • Chapter received Outstanding Chapter of the Year Award 2009 from Phi Sigma Sigma under her leadership
  • Elected while studying abroad, and took office immediately upon returning to campus
3. VIRGINIA HARKINS (Zeta Kappa - University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown)
  • Assisted in resolving significant chapter challenges during her time in office
  • Chapter reached total for the first time in more than 10 years under her leadership
4. MADI LOTTENBACH (Kappa - The George Washington University)
  • Acted as chapter liaison and key support person for chapter following untimely death of much beloved sister
  • Chapter made quota during recruitment
  • Chapter won the GW Excellence Gold Award, in which she worked with the Vice Archon to implement programs based on specific criteria

5. KATE MEYER (Epsilon Psi - Western Illinois University)

  • Assisted in resolving significant chapter challenges during her time in office
  • Lead the chapter in making notable changes
  • Awards won via the University during her time in office: President of the Year, Outstanding Chapter Leadership, Outstanding External Relations, Outstanding Member Development

6. AMY SMITH (Xi - Temple University)

  • Organized a service trip for the chapter to Ghana; 13 members built a foundation for a school
  • Implemented Tree House Books (a reading program for children) as the chapter’s local philanthropy
  • Sits on Grand Archon's Collegiate Advisory Board
  • Named 2010-2011 Student Board Member of Order of Omega (sole undergraduate representative)

Beverly Parkes Collegian of the Year - Finalists

Six women are finalists for COLLEGIAN OF THE YEAR, an award named for one of our most renowned Supreme Council leaders. Beverly Block Parkes (Beta Theta - University of Miami) was a much beloved, long-time volunteer of our sisterhood, serving in multiple roles - notably as Grand Vice Archon-Undergraduates and as a Director on the Foundation Board. She was once called the "heart of Phi Sigma Sigma."
The Beverly Parkes Collegian of the Year Award is presented to a collegiate member who, in her activities and character, personifies the ideals of Phi Sigma Sigma. The candidate must be in good standing with her collegiate chapter and university, and give evidence of forwarding the three goals of Phi Sigma Sigma: advancement of womanhood, lifelong learning and philanthropic service. She shall have achieved a most exemplary record in the last year of her collegiate work, as a senior.

1. KARLY CAUDELL (Delta Iota - Central Michigan University)
  • 3.89 GPA – Dean’s List – President’s List
  • Resident Assistant
  • Order of Omega President
  • Student Dietetic Association and Dietetic Department Research Assistant
  • CMU Homecoming Ambassador
2. AMANDA DWORKIN (Xi - Temple University)
  • 3.76  GPA – Dean’s List for 6 semesters
  • Member of 3 national honor societies
3. LAUREN LOEPP (Delta Delta - Linfield College)
  • 3.75 GPA – Dean’s List and 2 honor societies
  • Sits on Grand Archon's Collegiate Advisory Board
  • Psi Chi Honor Society President, Order of Omega Secretary, Psychology Club Secretary, Student Body Cabinet Sports Director and a member of the Linfield College Activities Board – all served while sitting on the E-board of Phi Sigma Sigma
  • Organized “Jared’s Box Project” on campus
4. BRIANNA ORTIZ (Iota Theta - Barry University)
  • 3.586 GPA – Dean’s List every semester since 2007
  • 3 national honor societies and a member of the American Medical Student Association
  • Resident Assistant  
  • Order of Omega Secretary
5. FARAH SHEIKH (Beta Upsilon - American University)
  • 3.4 GPA
  • Works for Maryland Leadership Workshop (6 years)
  • Organized and vetted a selection of potential donors and wrote grant proposals
  • As a facilitator, designed and executed 5 different week-long leadership programs for 850 Maryland high-school students
6. AMBER SNYDER (Theta Alpha - Northern Michigan University)
  • 3.44 GPA
  • Lobbied on Capitol Hill for Greek housing reform on behalf of Phi Sigma Sigma
  • 125 hours of community service with multiple organizations
  • Elected to the Mortar Board National Senior Honor Society
  • Committee for Undergraduate Proposals as part of SGA
  • Northern Michigan University student newspaper
  • Superior Edge Graduate (out-of-classroom service program which involves 850 hours of service in different areas)

For more information on Phi Sigma Sigma awards and honors, visit our Awards page, or contact us.