Founders' Day

Phi Sigma Sigma was founded on November 26, 1913, by ten young women who wanted to join the same sorority at the Normal College of the City of New York (it was renamed Hunter College in 1914).  Lillian Gordon Alpern, Josephine Ellison Breakson, Fay Chertkoff, Estelle Melnick Cole, Jeanette Lipka Furst, Shirley Cohen Laufer, Ethel Gordon Kraus, Claire Wunder McArdle, Rose Sher Seidman and Gwen Zaliels Snyder formed their own sorority so they could forge their ideal sisterhood.

2013 marks 100 years of Phi Sigma Sigma! For more information, see the 
Centennial 2013 section under Mark Your Calendars.