Phi Sigma Sigma History

ΦΣΣ History

In 1913 our 10 founding mothers approached the Dean of Hunter College in New York with a vision to create a sorority open to all women no matter their background - the first sorority where you didn't have to be a certain religion, party or race. This sorority would be based on sisterhood, excellence in scholarship, and in selfless giving back to the community. Thus, on November 26, 1913, under our first Archon Fay Chertkoff, the first Phi Sigma Sigma chapter was established. The original name of the Fraternity was Phi Sigma Omega, but was changed because there was already another Greek organization using that name. The American Beauty Rose was chosen as our flower because it was the premier flower in the U.S, following its introduction to the White House nursery in 1885. The Founding mothers created our twin ideals statement which reads: "The brotherhood of man and the alleviation of the world's pain." Our open motto, as you may have heard or read, is Diokete Hupsala. Translated from the Greek language, this means "Aim High". Our three core values are what the base of Phi Sigma Sigma are - Lifelong Learning, Inclusiveness, and Leadership Through Service.

Phi Sigma Sigma later elected our first Supreme Council in 1918, and became a national sorority in 1921 when the Zeta chapter was installed at the University of California, Los Angeles. It became an international sorority in 1930 when our Upsilon chapter was installed at the University of Manitoba, Manitoba, Canada.

Today, Phi Sigma Sigma maintains 108 healthy, active collegiate chapters in the United State and Canada and has more the 70,000 members worldwide!